Haul \\ The Makeup Show NYC 2013

You’ve read about my super exciting two days at The Makeup Show NYC 2013, now take a look at the goodies I bagged! To be honest, with almost 80 booths all offering discounts of up to 40 per cent, it’s surprising this is all I ended up with. Nonetheless, it’s one big bag full and I can’t wait to get in and try ’em all.

One confession I have: I didn’t go all-out adventurous, given the number of brands hawking their goods. I stuck to the ones I love and know, simply because. But there are a couple of new names I picked up that I’m really excited to experiment with.

My very first purchase was at the Nars counter, in fact I think I returned twice to grab more stuff. Here’s the Light Reflecting Powder Compact US$23.80, Happening Palette US$45.50, Schiap lippie US$18.20, Exhibit A blush US$20.30, Eyeshadow Duo in Cordura US$23.80, Eyeliner Stylo in Nuku Hiva and Carpates US$18.90 each, and Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Primer US$16.80. All at a cool 30 per cent discount. Was so tempted to get the Boys Don’t Cry blush from the Pierre Hardy collection and some candles, but didn’t coz my luggage says no. The waiting time to pay was 25 minutes at its longest, but well worth it.

The line at the MUFE stand was insane so I only made a purchase early on the second day, but some of the Aqua Shadows were out so these are all I got. From the latest I Love Aqua Summer collection are the Aqua Rouge in 16 Fuchsia US$14.40, and Aqua Lip in 16C Fuchsia US$11.40. I also got the Lip Pencil in 42 US$10.20, Aqua Eyes in 14L White US$10.80, Eyebrow Pencil in 02 US$11.40, and the HD Powder (8.5g) US$20.40.

Although OCC was rolling out its latest product, the Stained Gloss collection, me being not a fan of sticky lips stuck to the good ol’ Lip Tars. Here’s Nylon, Anime and Radiate US$12 each, and nail lacquers in Radiate, Chlorophyll and Flatline (matte top coat) US$7 each.

I was excited to pick up the latest Countless Color Pigments from Stila and trust me, I had to exercise A LOT of self-restraint to only get one in Finale US$15.40. All the colours are so pretty! I also picked up the Stay All Day Liquid Lip Colour in Bellisima US$15.40, (because I have one in Fiore (fuchsia) and the staying power is ace, plus nude is my second fave after a hot pink mouth), and the Stay All Day Smudge Stick in Peacock US$14. These were also 30 per cent off.

Ahhhh Ellis Faas. I’ve been somewhat interested in her line for the longest time but never took the plunge due to the prices in SG (I think it’s over $100 a bottle). At US$54 for the Skin Veil foundation (I opted for the pump bottle instead of the brush dispenser as it houses more product) and US$24 for the Concealer, I decided to make my first foray into the brand. Also, David Stella’s demo at the show swayed me. He even helped me pick out the right shades for my skin tone. Such a sweetheart he is.

Inglot is famed for its highly pigmented eyeshadows but I didn’t get any simply because I have too many eyeshadows that are unused. Instead, I picked up a nail polish in 687, two matte lippies in 421 and 417 US$9 each, and a lip pencil in 26.

I’ve heard a lot about Blinc and how it binds to lashes like a tube, instead of coating the surface, for lashes that that won’t clump, flake, smudge or water. Of course I had to try it myself. Here’s the Mascara and Mascara Amplified formulas, in both brown and black, $13 each (half price from the usual!).

Besides a good head of hair, the only other place I want full strands is on my lids. I’ve heard plenty of good stuff about Grande Lash and decided to make an investment and give it a go. The pink pouch set costs US$60 and includes a lash-growing serum, a complementary eyeliner, a tiny tube of mascara and a compact mirror. Also picked up an extra serum for US$40.

I hovered around the Hakuhodo booth for the longest time but until I feel generous enough to drop US$100 for a brush, these ones from Bdellium will do. Pictured here is a travel set that comes with a roll-up US$27. I also added a small angled brow brush and a synthetic fibre fan brush, both for only US$12.

I also got some badger-hair brushes from Crown Brush to add to the stash. These were really cheap, nothing above US$20 each, although I can’t remember how much they cost individually.

One of my beauty resolutions this year is to wash my makeup brushes regularly so these gems from Cinema Secrets and London Brush Company will come in handy. The blue bottles were US$8 (left) and US$22 respectively, and the solid shampoo in a tub cost US$20.

Also added one of the best tweezers money can buy to my haul. The set on the right comes with a nifty pouch to hold both tweezers and it costs US$24. The lash comb was about US$12 I think? And the sharpener about US$5.

I’ll follow up with reviews of my haul over the next few months so if you have any questions at all about any of the product shown here, stay tuned or shoot me a line below.

Thanks The Makeup Show NYC 2013 for the fantastic line-up of brands and demos, and for making me $1,000 poorer but oh so happy. Until next time!

One response to “Haul \\ The Makeup Show NYC 2013

  1. Pingback: Beauty in the Big Apple \ A Recap of The Makeup Show NYC 2013 | a dose of pretty | Singapore Beauty & Lifestyle Blog by Jazmin Kelly Six·

Share Your Thoughts Here!