Review + Swatch \\ Top 5 Matte Fuchsia Lippies

If you know me, you’d have realised that just like Italian fashion designer Elsa Schiaparelli, my favourite colour is loud, shocking pink. From shoes, bags, dresses to lips, I’m almost always rocking that shade. In fact, my previous work desk was so pinked out that my ex-Fashion editor often left a surprise snack for me – Strawberry Pocky – “to add to the pink”, he’d say.

Having only fallen in love with the art of wearing lipstick in recent years, I am not quite as adventurous yet and prefer to stick to nudes, reds and you guessed it, fuchsia. I also prefer the matte texture as opposed to glossy or satin as I find the latter types rather messy and don’t hold up as well. Although I must point out that matte lippies can sometimes be too drying so always slick on some lip balm before putting them on (my fave is the Sugar Advanced Therapy Lip Treatment from Fresh – super pricey, it’s $33 at Sephora, but oh so good).

So because I am such a pink fanatic, I’ve recently loaded up my shopping cart with plenty of new matte fuchsia lippies and here are five of my favourites.


1) Make Up For Ever Aqua Rouge in 16, $40, Sephora

One of the latest additions to the Aqua Rouge line that made its entrance earlier in Summer. I am a huge HUGE fan of MUFE’s Aqua Rouge (the colours truly DO NOT budge) and was so happy to see a fuchsia shade join the fam. This is a deep variation but it still looks amazing. Synonymous with the line, it stays put an entire day, requiring only minimal touch-ups after meals. You can leave it matte by applying just the colour alone, or seal it with the clear gloss (which lengthens its wear) for a shinier finish.

2) Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Fiore, $32, Sephora*

I fell in love with this one at last Fall’s Sephora Press Day and have been using it religiously ever since. The doe-foot applicator is fuss-free and I am pretty close to mastering this application without the need of a lip liner (practise, practise, practise!). Just like its namesake, it really lasts and lasts, sometimes even throughout snacking. It also has a very delicious gourmand scent that makes me drool (figuratively).

3) Inglot Lipstick in 421, POA, Inglot

A warmer fuchsia that is very similar to the Stila above but more leaning towards berry. Colour is opaque, applies strong and stays in place, save for some touch-up after meals. This is my first brush with Inglot, which I discovered during my recent NYC trip, and I am quite pleased with how the formula (enriched with apricot kernel oil and vitamin E) doesn’t dry out my pout. The lippie also has a very nice fruity scent which I really like.

4) NARS Semi Matte Lipstick in Schiap, $38, Nars

Inspired by the Goddess of shocking pink Schiaparelli herself, this is probably my favourite lippie from the entire NARS catalogue. It’s a legit fuchsia that is on-point and super on-trend. Not too bright, for those who don’t fancy sticking out in a crowd, but definitely not forgettable either. If you are looking for a quintessential fuchsia, this is it. The NARS Semi Matte range is also more comfortable to wear and less drying than some of its Pure Matte counterparts.

5) M.A.C Cosmetics in Candy Yum Yum, $29, M.A.C

Where Candy Yum Yum goes, the sirens sound. This one is for the loud mouth who ain’t afraid to be seen and heard – totally what Nicki Minaj would wear. The brightest of the lot, I really like how attention-grabbing this lippie is. I also get the most compliments wearing this shade. It is very moisturising for a matte colour and glides on like a dream. I find myself reapplying this more frequently throughout the day (a trade-off perhaps for a more moisturising formula) but I don’t mind it one bit.

Are you a fan of fuchsia lippies too? Which have you tried?

Share Your Thoughts Here!