Review + Swatch \\ Origins GinZing Energy-Boosting Moisturiser

My love affair with Origins is a long-standing one. Until five years ago, I never went beyond drugstore beauty brands but unfortunately because of thanks to my adult acne problem (see what products I used to combat this), I had to do a complete beauty routine overhaul. Origins was my go-to then, because I related (still do!) to what the brand does, in terms of using natural botanicals and being so eco-friendly. Back then, it was just on its way towards formulations without parabens, propylene glycol, mineral oils etc, and now that Origins has completely steered clear of these icky chemicals, more power to the brand I say.

Sometime in April, I had to opportunity to catch up with the lovely Fangwen from Origins and she presented me with the latest addition to the GinZing range, the Origins GinZing Energy-Boosting Moisturiser, which I’ve been using religiously for about three weeks now. And if you’re nocturnal like I am with constant skin dullness to battle, you might like this.

Said to be like “a shot of espresso for tired skin”, this oil-free lightweight gel-cream contains panax ginseng and caffeine to refresh dull, listless skin, and restore its radiance and hydration levels. It also contains chestnut seed for soft, smooth skin, and smells absolutely fresh and zingy.

Instructions say to use it both AM and PM, but I prefer to slather this in the morning as it leaves a minty, tingling sensation on the skin and works as nice wake-me-up. Like most Origins gel-cream moisturisers, this absorbs within two minutes. I’ve found that just a dot each on the cheeks, forehead and chin works best, and you’ll be able to proceed with sunblock and makeup almost immediately.

What I enjoy most about this product is that it is perfect for our weather. As promised, it delivers softness and hydration to the skin without weighing it down and most importantly, my skin really feels ‘awakened’ and looks brighter after use. Definitely another champion to have on the vanity.

Have you tried this? What do you think about it? Sound off below!

The Origins GinZing Energy-Boosting Moisturiser retails at $50 (50ml) and is available at all Origins counters.

Images via: Main Product (Press Information)

Share Your Thoughts Here!